Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 Planning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 Planning

Hi everyone. I want to upgrade a bit my pc. I want to upgrade my motherboard and my mems (ddr2) to a new MB with DD3 mems. I have an AMD Athlon II x4 640 Processor wich supports PC3-10600 (1333) mems.

I don't want to upgrade my CPU yet, I would upgrade it in about ten months, or maybe a year. And then I can upgrade to a FX processor (maybe a "Vishera" processor, future succesor of "Zambezi"). I'm from argentina and here you can upgrade to a new technology a few months later, because his high price.

I'm thinking in a 1600 mem (underclock to 1333) or maybe a 1866 mem (I don't know if I can underclock to 1333). I think in 1866 because my future upgrade of CPU can take advantage of that, but I don't know, I'm not an expert in memory election.

What memory can you recomend me? (model, frequency, and timings). I have a budget of 45-60 U$S

I use my pc for gaming (not very extreme) and I don't usually overclock my hardware. I'm searching for a good price/performance ratio.

p.s: I you have some great article or some docs to read about ram choosing, clocking or tweeking I'm happy to read it.

p.s2: I'm looking for an 8GB kit

Thanks!
    Best Regards!
    Matias
    Last edited by Azagthot; 02-14-2012, 08:09 AM.

I'd look to 1866 at a CL9, you should be able to run them at 1333/CL7 for now, then full 1866 when you upgrade the CPU. Maybe something like the Snipers F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR or Ripjaws X model F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL both of which sell for $60 (not sure what they would be in Argentina...

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

Hi again!, thanks for the quick answer.

Ok, I have 3 questions.

1. What are the differences between "Sniper" and "Ripjaws x" at 1866?. Both have 9-10-9-28 timings and both costs $60