Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• G.Skill RAM Issue

Hey guys

ok basically, i just got myself a 955 AMD Phenom 2 ( compatable with most DDR3 ), did my research, but im still lost

along with a nice 4GB set of G.Skill Ripjaw F3-1200CL8D-4GBRM

and the mobo is an ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 - the ram is QVL Listed

now thankfully. theres no actual physical problems, the only issue i have is the BIOS settings, on auto the timers are all set to 9-9-9-24-40-1T and this doesnt seem right

the timers 8-8-8-24 and i have no clue about that 40 or 1T

Ok now im a total noob with ram, i can get to the bios area where you change the timers, and frequencys but i have NO idea what settings to change, i need a step by step guide here lol

i changed the DRAM Frequency to 1600 from 1333 and ive had no troubles, just need the timers right

Base timings should be the 8-8-8-24, DRAM Voltage @ 1.6 to 1.65, and CR at 2T (may show up at 2N) instead of 1T or 1N

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

ok after setting the settings you suggested, it runs, theres no BSOD , no heat problems, no physical issue

But the system seems sluggish, im yet to try the ram at 1333 to see if theres a difference, ill be testing soon

but my games have little lag spikes that shouldnt be there, and fps drops. and programs lag before they load

It started been fairly notice-able when i upped the voltages to 1.6 using the DRAM Voltage OC tool

which im not sure is the right hting in the bios to set, but when i did, the 1.6 numbers went yellow/red, like a warning its to high

so im wondering if voltage is causing it, maybe the mobo cant handle 1.6, or if the 955 Phenom 2 simply doesnt like 1600 8-8-8-24 Ram

Comment

It may be lagging a bit via the MC, try raising your CPU/NB by .04 to see if that smooths it out, also what's your tRFC timing at?

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here: