Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

GSKILL F3-2400C9Q-16gig+Asus Maximus VI Extreme+Intel 4770K NO Stability on BOOT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GSKILL F3-2400C9Q-16gig+Asus Maximus VI Extreme+Intel 4770K NO Stability on BOOT

The ASUS board (latest bios/no bent pins in the socket) boots with a variety of Q-codes. Sometimes I get a "55" stating there is no ram (4x4 sticks) installed. If I press the "Mem-ok" button it will "99", see all 16gigs and let me in the bios. The settings the "Mem-ok" found that were stable (for the bios at least) are 1600/11-11-11-28-2. The default voltage is set at 1.6697. I was successful at changing the timings to 9-11-11-31-2 but nothing seems to work between 1600-2400 (didn't test them all). I did try the voltage setting at 1.65 too. Even with the "stable" settings "Mem-ok" finds it still causes the PC to boot over and over. I have a Cooler Master V8-GTS installed so 3 of 4 memory slots are hard to reach and I cannot remove most of the ram. I did reseat (from the top) best I could and it did boot to the bios but it still doesn't hold. I don't believe there is a ram contact issue based on the weight of the cooler; looks even. So, I am ready to tear down the MB, install the stock cooler and go stick by stick. But, if the community has any suggestions (XMP?) I would appreciate it.
    Last edited by Avalon; 08-28-2013, 06:18 PM. Reason: SOLVED

Do you have the latest BIOS, if not upgrade, then enable XMP and select profile 1

Pls offer comments on support I provide, HERE, in order to help me do a better job here:

Tman

Comment

Yes, the latest bios is in place. I will try the XMP. Strange thing on the last "Mem-ok" test I ran. It remembered I left it at "2400" with all the manual timings I put in. Seems it fails no matter what I set it too. If the XMP doesn't work I will tear it down tomorrow.

Comment