GA-970A-D3 and G.Skill 1866

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GA-970A-D3 and G.Skill 1866

I am a noob at overclocking and I have attempted to follow the instructions featured in the forums to no avail. I was hoping/wondering if someone could help me troubleshoot through this process.

Spec:
    AMD FX-4100 no OC (~3.6)
    mobo:Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, rev. 1.1, version F11
    G.Skill Ripjaws X Series (2x8GB) 1866 model -- (F3-14900CL10D-16GBXL), but running at 1333.
    AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB (ASUS HD7850-DC2-2GD5-V2)
    650W PSU

I'd like to get the RAM running to its 1866 speed or at a minimum to 1600. I tried following these instructions linked and scouring through posts on the forum: http://www.gskill.us/forum/showthread.php?t=11742

Each time I try to start it stops me for an unable to boot.

Thanks for any help in advance, and sorry if I didn't post this in right spot.
    Last edited by General Mars; 01-26-2013, 07:54 PM.

When experiencing issues, always check and update to the latest BIOS.

Thank you
    GSKILL TECH

Comment

I successfully updated the Bios to the most recent available (F11), and went through the requisite after steps to ensure stability.

Then after the couple reboots, I went into the Bios and attempted to set the RAM. I enabled the EOCP, and choose the profile 1866, which is what my RAM is rated for. I then increased the CPU-NB Volt +0.10V but still received this error:

The system has experienced boot failures due to overclocking.
      Current CPU Speed: 18x200MHz
      Current Memory Speed: 1333MHz
      Current HT Speed: 2000MHz

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, so if you could continue bearing with me I'd appreciate it!

Thanks for help!

Comment

May want to try raising your DRAM voltage + 0.05. Also what is your CPU-NB at? It may be the BIOS isn't setting things up correctly or also that the 4100 just can't carry 1866 sticks (which many can't), might try with EOCP at 1600 or setting up manually for 1600