G.SKILL TECH FORUM

Go Back   G.SKILL TECH FORUM ? Product Discussion ? DDR2 ? DDR2 BIOS Configuration Guides

DDR2 BIOS Configuration Guides Look for your specific motherboard and memory package to properly set the BIOS so that your memory is operating optimally.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2009, 04:20 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,963
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Post F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK + GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P BIOS settings

UPDATE: Gigabyte released a new BIOS.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/M...ProductID=3038
__________________________________________________ _____________________

This seems to be a common combination that people have trouble running at DDR2 1066, so I have decided to create a sticky for it.

The memory should be installed in the yellow slots, slot 1 and slot 2.

In BIOS, make sure Memory Frequency is set to [x5.33] 1066 that is of course if your CPU frequency is 200. Then set DCTs Mode to [Unganged]. Next for DDR2 Timing, set to [Manual] and enter these values:

CAS# latency - 5T
RAS to CAS R/W Delay - 5T
Row Precharge Time - 5T
Minimum RAS Active Time - 15T
1T/2T Command Timing - 2T
TwTr Command Delay - 4T
Trfc0 for DIMM1 - 127ns
Trfc2 for DIMM2 - 127ns
Write Recovery Time - 8T
Precharge Time - 3T
Row Cycle Time - 24T (May need to increase up to 42T if unstable)
RAS to RAS Delay - 4T

Increase DDR2 Voltage to +0.300V
Northbridge Volt Control +0.1V (+0.3V for 8GB, 4 sticks)
CPU NB VID Control +0.025V

After these settings your computer should be running smoothly.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT


Thanks to member "berserker b2k" and "dardf" we have pics for reference.








Last edited by GSKILL TECH; 04-02-2010 at 09:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2009, 05:32 PM
berserker_b2k berserker_b2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
berserker_b2k is reading into overclocking
Default

I took new pictures with the settings you specified above





Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2009, 07:30 PM
retsamradassaT retsamradassaT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 35
retsamradassaT is reading into overclocking
Default

Hmm.. what about people with 8GB?
I'm also using the same mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2009, 06:22 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,963
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Same settings as above, but you may need to increase tRFC to 195ns and tRC into the 30 range.


GSKILL SUPPORT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:19 PM
Marduk Marduk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Marduk is reading into overclocking
Default

I seem to not be able to grasp this ordeal,Ive used g.skill for awhile now with no problems. I just built a system and used this

Gigabyte 790X UD4P board
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128387

2X2GB G.skill 1066
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231166

AMD Phenom 2 920
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103472

Ive done the guide getting my memory up to standard but still not stable,runs flawlessly stable at 800....but will not run 1066 I just dont understand.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:28 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,963
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Have you tried the settings above? what is happening at 1066? reboot? errors?

GSKILL SUPPORT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:50 PM
Marduk Marduk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Marduk is reading into overclocking
Default

Anytime I try and put it over 4.00 or 400 I never get to my desktop before I get bsod and memory dumps. I have tried the settings above,hold on which one theres 2 different settings right??

Last edited by Marduk; 07-20-2009 at 07:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2009, 09:05 PM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,963
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Not the ones in the BIOS pics or below. The very first part of this thread. The beginnings.

What is 400 or 4.00? CPU frequency? Memory Clock?

GSKILL SUPPORT

Last edited by GSKILL TECH; 07-20-2009 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:43 AM
Marduk Marduk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Marduk is reading into overclocking
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSKILL TECH View Post
Not the ones in the BIOS pics or below. The very first part of this thread. The beginnings.

What is 400 or 4.00? CPU frequency? Memory Clock?

GSKILL SUPPORT
Yes I tried it beginning tweak of the bios,still BSOD before I can get to desktop. Yes memory freq.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:57 AM
GSKILL TECH's Avatar
GSKILL TECH GSKILL TECH is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 12,963
GSKILL TECH has disabled reputation
Default

Have you tried slots 2 and 4? For tRFC slot 0 and 3, try 110ns. If that doesn't work, try the one setting above 127.5ns for slots 2 and 4 (leave slots 0 and 3 to 127.5ns). Also try the different tRC values in between.

Thank you
GSKILL SUPPORT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
gigabyte ga-ma790x-ud4p

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All rights reserved. Copyright 1989-2013, G.Skill International Enterprise